Stafford County Planning Commission

The Planning Commission is a body of seven citizens appointed by the Board of Supervisors. Each Commissioner represents an election district. State Code requires that the Planning Commission review and make recommendations of the County's Comprehensive Plan, changes to the subdivision and zoning ordinances, rezonings, and conditional use permits. 

The Planning Commission has approval authority of preliminary subdivision plans, waivers of subdivision requirements, and requests for determination of compliance with the Comprehensive Plan. The subdivision ordinance allows the Planning Commission to have discretionary approval of any request for waivers of the subdivision ordinance requirements. 

6:00 PM
Second and fourth Wednesday of each month
Board of Supervisors Chambers
George L. Gordon, Jr., Government Center
1300 Courthouse Road
Stafford, VA   22554

live stream
*Only available during meeting. Video Archives can be
found on our Regional Web TV page.

Public Hearings
The Planning Commission meetings begin at 6:00 PM.  The public is allowed in the Government Center, and can also access the meeting via livestream.  

Public Hearings:   JUNE 12, 2024

Members Officers Election Districts
Kristen Barnes   Rock Hill
Kelsey Caudill   George Washington
Carlos Bratton   Griffis-Widewater
Steven Apicella   Falmouth
Martin Martinez   Aquia
Laura Sellers   Garrisonville
Willie Shelton, Jr.    Hartwood

Board Representatives

The Planning Commission also has a representative to serve an advisory function on the Technical Review Committee (TRC), Architectural Review Board (ARB), and Parks and Recreation Commission.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available 72 hours prior to the meetings.  Minutes are available following approval.

Agendas and Minutes prior to May 2022 are available in the Agenda and Minutes

Mobile Access Instructions